Online Poker Majors: WPT Online Championship and SCOOP Main Event Results

May 22nd, 2020 | by Kaycee James

Two major online poker MTTs came to a conclusion this week, leaving two players more than $900,000 better off.

Christian Jeppsson

Sweden’s Christian Jeppsson has become one of the latest pros to take down an online poker major. (Image: Partypoker)

First to conclude was the WPT Online Championship. Playing out on Partypoker, the $3,200 event easily breached its $5 million guarantee after attracting 2,130 players.

When the fourth and final day got underway on May 20, Christian Jeppsson quickly became the man to beat. Despite threats from Pascal Hartmann and Sam Greenwood, Jeppsson came through a tough finale to win the inaugural WPT Online Championship title.

Jeppsson Secures WPT Online Title

It took 90 minutes for the for the first player to bite the dust. Pascal Teekens was the man to open the elimination floodgates though which Greenwood would walk soon after.

With the chips flowing, Jeppsson started to make his move. Winning a race with A♣Q♣ to eliminate Hartmann and his pocket jacks, the finale was soon down to five. Three more eliminations would occur before Viktor Ustimov did his best to stop Jeppsson’s route to the title.

A deal preceded the heads-up battle, leaving each player with more than $850,000 for their efforts. In the end though, it was all about winning the WPT Online Championship. A flurry of bets on a Q♦5♥6♦7♦2♥ board eventually brought the tournament to a close.

Ustimov was strong with a pair of kings in the hole but Jeppsson’s flush with J♦9♦ was unbeatable. That pot sealed the deal and sent $932,785, as well as a WPT online title, Jeppsson’s way.

$3,200 WPT Online Championship on Partypoker Result

1 – Christian Jeppsson – $923,785

2 – Viktor Ustimov – $865,542

3 – Jukka Koskela – $477,333

4 – Nikolay Ponomarev – $317,583

5 – Alexander Clark – $221,733

6 – Pascal Hartmann – $151,443

7 – Sam Greenwood – $103,837

8 – Pascal Teekens – $66,775

With one event over, all eyes turned towards the $10,300 Spring Championship of Online Poker (SCOOP) main event on PokerStars.

Another Online Poker Spectacle

609 entries pushed the prizepool to over $6 million and four days’ worth of play left an all-stay cast vying for the title on May 20.

Pieter Aerts lead at the start of play but he couldn’t hold his position. With Max Silver, Daniel Dvoress and recent Partypoker Millions winner Pablo Brito Silva in action, competition was tough.

However, none of those pros would emerge victorious. Rising up from seemingly nowhere to win the SCOOP main event was Alexgirs. The online poker pro managed to take control during the middle stages of the final table and never looked back.

The decisive moment came after all but Silva had faded into the ether. A three-handed deal had given Alexgirs the lion’s share of the prizepool but that wasn’t enough. With the chip advantage on his side, he never let Silva back into contention.

With only a handful of chips left, Silva moved all-in with J♥5♥. Alexgirs called with K♣J♣ and it was all but over. The 10♠9♣9♦4♥6♠ board didn’t help Silva and the final pot was pushed to Alexgirs.

With that, the SCOOP main event was over and another online poker major was in the books.

$10,300 PokerStars SCOOP Main Event Result

1 – Alexgirs – $920,595*

2 – Pablo Brito Silva – $764,941*

3 – Alex Difelice – $722,075*

4 – Pieter Aerts – $414,959

5 – Daniel Dvoress – $303,273

6 – Michael Addamo – $221,647

7 – Max Silver – $161,991

8 – Benjamin Rolle – $118,392

9 – EEE27 – $95,745

*Denotes a deal.


    Comments are closed.